Vote Tracker

Electric Car Charging Station Bill Passes Senate

The Senate passed a bill that will help clear the way for more electric car charging stations being installed in municipalities and in residential neighborhoods. Senate Bill 187(S), sponsored by Senator Sarah McBride and Representative Krista Griffith, will make it easier and more convenient to own an electric vehicle in this State in the years to come, resulting in increased purchases of electric vehicles, promoting cleaner air and water, and resulting in improved health outcomes for Delawareans and a reduction of greenhouse gases to curtail global warming.

The bill passed 16-5, with those five no votes being all Republicans, of course: Colin Bonini, Gerald Hocker, Dave Lawson, Brian Pettyjohn and Dave Wilson.

Electric vehicles (EVs) are becoming more and more popular. Between 2012 and 2016, EV sales grew at an annual rate 32%. In 2017, growth in sales reached 45%. Batteries for EVs have become much cheaper in the last 10 years, enabling EVs to compete with traditional, fossil-fueled vehicles. In addition, major vehicle manufacturers are pledging to go all electric. Some researchers are predicting that EV sales will outnumber those of traditional, combustion engine vehicles by 2040.

However, only minimal electrical charging infrastructure is available today.

Senate Bill 187(S) will require municipalities with a population of 30,000 or more to develop a procedure to obtain permission for the installation of an electric vehicle charging station on real property zoned for residential use that abuts a residential street, so that property owners can install charging stations on their property.

This bill needs a two thirds majority to pass because it amends municipal charters. It garnered that majority in the Senate.

Senate Bill 187(S) SponsorsYes VotesNo Votes
McBride, Hansen, Ennis, Gay, Mantzavinos, Sokola, Townsend, WalshSenate Passed 15-6. Brown Ennis Gay Hansen Lockman Mantzavinos Paradee Pinkney Poore S.McBride Sokola Sturgeon Townsend Walsh Lopez Pettyjohn Bonini, Hocker, Lawson, Richardson, Wilson
Griffith, Baumbach, Lambert, Morrison
Current Status:Sent to the House for consideration.

Senator McBride: “The market has made clear: electric vehicles are the cars of the future. This shift is critical to protecting our environment and it represents one of the most significant changes to our society since the advent of the internet. If we do not begin to build out our electric vehicle infrastructure immediately, we will be both unprepared for the inevitable changes ahead of us and potentially miss out on the environmental benefits of this growing field. That is why I’m joining with Rep. Krista Griffith to introduce SB 187 to facilitate the installation of electric vehicle charging stations along curbsides in Delaware’s largest – and most densely populated – cities where on-property parking and charging is limited. Now is the time to act.”

“Electric vehicles are the future. Our environment demands it and the market has made it inevitable. SB 187 is an important part of building out our EV infrastructure.”

Representative Griffith: “I have long been committed to putting forth legislation that reduces reliance on fossil fuels, particularly as it pertains to automobiles and transportation. I’m proud to team up with Sen. Sarah McBride on SB 187, which will require Delaware’s largest cities to install EV charging stations, promoting the use of these environmentally-forward vehicles. We’ve seen over these past years that electric vehicles are becoming more popular. With battery prices decreasing more and more, EVs have become a reasonable competitor with traditional fossil-fueled vehicles. This legislation will help support the creation of infrastructure needed to support these vehicles.”

Delaware politics from a liberal, progressive and Democratic perspective. Keep Delaware Blue.

0 comments on “Electric Car Charging Station Bill Passes Senate

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: