Delaware Vote Tracker

No More Musical Chairs

House Bill 29, a bill that will end the post candidate filing deadline game of musical chairs for office seekers, passed the Senate 20-0-1 after passed the House unanimously. The non-voting Senator? Darius Brown of Wilmington, who may have participated in the game himself years ago.

What game?

There is a brief window of time after the deadline for a candidate to file to run for office and before a final deadline where the filed candidate can switch the office he or she is running for. We saw this in evidence last summer in Wilmington and New Castle County where several city and county candidates switched races. For example, Velda Jones Potter quit her City Treasurer reelection race to run for Mayor (and lost, to my great amusement). Vash Turner withdrew from running for his 5th District City Council seat and ran for Treasurer. And so on and so on.

House Bill 29 Sponsors Yes VotesNo Votes
Baumbach, M.Smith, Brady, Gray, Morrison, OsienskiHouse Passed 40-0-1. Baumbach, Bennett, Bentz, Bolden, Brady, Bush, Carson, Chukwuocha, Cooke, Dorsey Walker, Griffith Heffernan K.Johnson K.Williams Kowalko Lambert Longhurst Lynn Matthews Minor-Brown Mitchell Morrison Osienski S.Moore Schwartzkopf Wilson-Anton Briggs King Bush Collins D.Short Gray Hensley M.Smith Morris Postles Ramone Shupe Smyk Spiegelman Vanderwende YearickDukes (Absent)
Townsend, Wilson, PettyjohnSenate Passed 20-0-1. Ennis Gay Hansen Lockman Mantzavinos Paradee Pinkney Poore S.McBride Sokola Sturgeon Townsend Walsh Bonini Hocker Lawson Lopez Pettyjohn Richardson WilsonBrown (not voting)
Current Status: Sent to Governor

Delaware politics from a liberal, progressive and Democratic perspective. Keep Delaware Blue.

0 comments on “No More Musical Chairs

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: