General Assembly Vote Tracker

We are in the Atlantic Time Zone now…

Senate Bill 73 was passed by the House on the final night of the session. This is Senator Dave McBride’s quixotic quest to push Delaware into the Atlantic …. Time Zone. The bill passed the House 35-5-1 after having passed the Senate 17-4.

But don’t worry, you will not have to change your clocks right away. Or perhaps ever. The way this bill is structured is that Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey and New York would allow to agree to move into the Atlantic Time Zone as well. That’s not likely to happen anytime soon.

The affect of moving into the Atlantic Time Zone is to essentially keep us in daylight savings time forever, moving us one hour ahead of the Eastern Standard Time Zone.

More than half of the nation’s state legislatures are weighing bills to end the clock-changing – the most since the National Conference of State Legislatures began tracking the topic in 2014. Washington state, Oregon, and Florida have already passed similar legislation this year.

This isn’t a partisan bill, so there is no need to lambaste those who vote yes or no on the bill. But it is curious to see who votes yes or no.

WHERE IS THE BILL? Passed Senate 17-4. Passed House 35-5-1.

DEMOCRATIC SPONSORS – McBride, Townsend, Bentz, Paradee, Poore, Sokola, Baumbach, Brady, Lynn


YES VOTES — SENATE — Brown, Cloutier, Delcollo, Ennis, Hansen, Hocker, Lockman, McBride, McDowell, Paradee, Pettyjohn, Poore, Sokola, Sturgeon, Townsend, Walsh, Wilson ||| HOUSE — Baumbach Bennett Bentz Bolden Brady Briggs King Carson Chukwuocha Cooke D.Short Dorsey Walker Dukes Gray Heffernan Hensley Jaques K.Johnson Kowalko Longhurst Lynn Matthews Michael Smith Minor-Brown Mitchell Morris Osienski Q.Johnson Ramone Schwartzkopf Seigfried Shupe Smyk Spiegelman Vanderwende Viola

ABSENT — K.Williams

Delaware politics from a liberal, progressive and Democratic perspective. Keep Delaware Blue.

0 comments on “We are in the Atlantic Time Zone now…

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: